Evaluating Eminem ft. Rihanna

Leave a comment

May 9, 2014 by Welcome to the Jungle

Music Video Review
by Emily A.

I am watching the music video Love The Way You Lie by Eminem ft. Rihanna. This is not the kind of music that I usually listen to but I thought it was a great video to take evaluate. This video has many elements in common with other videos such as the objectification of women and their bodies. It shows that women are weak and vulnerable. The whole video is about a boyfriend who abuses his girlfriend but then tries to make it up to her by giving her teddy bears and telling her that it won’t happen again. The video shows his angry faces rushes after her and him shoving her into walls and treating her as an object when they become sexually intimate.

I don’t really like this video but I also don’t love it. I think it shows a very real situation that still happens each in every day for certain women. It portrays the objectification of women in a different tone but still alert viewers that this is a real issue. In my mind in seems very accurate to way a woman may go through when treated this way. I feel that maybe the video could of made it seem a little more realistic but I don’t think they did a terrible job of portraying it. I honestly don’t think they were trying to promote awareness of abusive relationship and I feel like would be something they should of done.

Leave a Reply

