Love at first hearing: One Republic

Leave a comment

May 5, 2014 by Welcome to the Jungle

one republicHeartbeats
By Karly P.


“Native”
One Republic
2013

One Republic is one of my favourite bands. I immediately bought this album as soon as it was released. After I listened to it once I was instantly in love with all twelve songs. From then on, it was played in my car constantly in heavy rotation. Ryan Tedder-lead singer- is a phenomenal writer who not only writes for his band, One Republic, but also for many popular artists all over the spectrum. I connected with the music and lyrics that he produced.

One Republic is an alternative rock band from Colorado Springs, Colorado. They were formed in 2003 by Ryan Tedder and Zach Filkins. The band consists of 5 members, Ryan Tedder (lead vocals, guitar, piano), Zach Filkins (guitar, backing vocals), Drew Brown (guitar), Brent Kutzle (bass, cello) and Eddie Fisher (drums).

“Native” is the bands third album that was released on March 22, 2013. It was recorded in the early months of 2012 and was originally planned to be released at the end of the year, however the album was not completed in time and was pushed back. I like this album as it has a mixture of accoustic slow songs and upbeat feel-good music. This was One Republics first top ten album in the US.

“Feel Again” is a great place to start. It was released long before any of the other tracks on January 27th, 2012. This single was used to raise awareness and funds for Save the Children’s “Every Beat Matters” campaign. This campaign engages and involves the public to help save millions of children’s lives every day. They included actual heart beats from children in Malawi and Guatemala into the song. Listening to “Feel Again” gives me goose bumps. This song makes me want to live life to the fullest and appreciate the little things. “A little wiser now from what you’ve shown me. Yeah, I feel again”

I think this album is very memorable. I know every song on the album from start to finish and it is one of my favourites to play in my car. It is not deep and depressing, however there is still meaning behind every song. I feel good when I listen to “Native” and I would recommend it to anyone. Ryan Tedder is exceptional at what he does and is one of my favourite song writers.

This album is made up of forty six minutes and forty four seconds of pure gold. There is a mixture of slow and fast, soft and loud, feel-good music. This music takes you away, with no thoughts or stress and allows you to live in the moment. It includes a song that raises money and awareness for millions of sick children around the world; the question is- why wouldn’t you want this album?

 Karly P. is a grade 12 student who enjoys One Republic music.

Leave a Reply

