The plot of the movies Holes isn’t filled with holes.

Leave a comment

February 24, 2014 by Welcome to the Jungle

holesHoles is a Solid Movie

by Jordan S.

Holes
Directed by Andrew Davis
Buena Vista Pictures (2003)

The Disney movie Holes, starring Shia Labeouf, is about him being sent to a prison camp where they dig holes all day and he tries to escape.

This Movie is about a young boy named Stanley who steals a pair of famous Nike shoes and gets caught and gets sent to a Teen boy prison camp. All day long they dig holes in search for the buried treasure that lays beneath where they dig. The young boy tries to escape and find the buried treasure to keep. The young boy is played by Shia Labeouf and the director of this movie is Andrew Davis.

Shia Labeouf has always been one of my favourite actors since I was young. The reason I seem to remember him is because I find him very funny and able to convice me of who he is playing in whatever movie that may be. A scene in this movie that I liked was one where he drove the prison guard’s truck to escape but ended up in a ditch and then procceded to run away. I realy felt the same emotion as he was feeling during this scene and kept me well interested and made me feel like I was in the movie.

I felt Director Andrew Davis did a great job in making this movie. The lights, atmosphere and the music all came together perfectly. This movie was set in a desert where they dug the holes. The atmosphere was perfect because they were in a desert the majority of the movie, the music was old western style, which added pefectly to the hot desert atmosphere. The camera shots were also very well done. In a lot of scenes there was sweat and dirt on the young boys which showed they were in a rough tough desert enviroment. I think this movie was very sucessful in convicing me this was real because I couldnt take my eyes off the screen.  It made me feel like I was there beside them the entire way.

A special effect that really caught my eye in this movie was a mountain that was supposedly shaped like God’s Thumb. When he was walking in the desert for days with little to drink and no food, he sees the God’s Thumb and has heard stories of there being food and water on the mountain. This was very memoriable because it gave the viewer (me) hope that Stanley would be okay in his adventure in the desert. During this scene the music playing was loud trumpets and drums that made it more intense and was pefect for this scene.

I feel this is a very good movie overall. It impacted all my emotions through the movie and kept me focused on the screen the whole time. I feel this was the best Disney Movie they created. It showed the tough times the sad times the happy times and the angry times which made me feel the same emotion at the given time. I would reccommed this movie to all age groups as it is a great family movie which i would give a rate of 9.5/10.

Jordan S. is a grade 12 student who loves movies.

Leave a Reply

