There is way more to this Brittany than pop songs

Leave a comment

February 10, 2014 by Welcome to the Jungle

Putting “Me” in Media
February 10, 2014
Intro:
tumblrMy name’s Brittany H. I’m 17 years old, and in my senior year of high school. I love reading, tumblr, watching TV shows and movies, spending time with my family, friends, and boyfriend. The media I consume is usually from the internet, as I spend a lot of time on there. I don’t see a lot of ads unless they’re on Youtube because I practically never watch TV shows on the TV. I don’t have a favourite genre of movies, but I usually like fantasy, thriller, and dramas. Some of my favourites would be Coraline, The Great Gatsby, She’s the Man, and all my favourites from childhood like Matilda, The Parent Trap, The Lost Boys, Beetlejuice, etc.
Media History
I watched a lot of TV shows as a kid. Some of my favourites were Mona the Vampire, Seven Little monsters, Dragon Tales, RugRats, and shows on Disney like Lizzie McGuire. I have no idea what the first movie I saw was! I’m assuming some Disney Classic, like duffCinderella. My favourite singer as a child was Hillary Duff. I think I was definitley influenced by toy ads, but I can’t think of a specific example.

Toys
Some toys that I played with as a child were Beanie Babies, Pokemon cards, Bratz, and Barbies. I think that the Bratz and Barbies were sexist as the dolls portrayed an unrealistic image of women, and pretty much all of the dolls (especially Bratz) wore loads of makeup and revealing clothing. I do remember ocassionaly dismantling my dolls, but other than that, no violence. I remember some of the ads, especially for polly pocket dolls, although I didn’t play with them as much.

Music Choices
My favourie artists are Lana Del Rey, Marina and the Diamonds, Beyoncé, Natalia Kills, M.I.A, Florence and the Machine, and many others. I also like listening to Korean music. Music that I won’t listen to is Screamo, and most country music, however that has exceptions. I love Johnny Cash and older country music like that, but I hate most modern country.

Television Now
orangeI can’t pick a single favourite TV show, as I love many, many TV shows. Some of my favourites are Game of Thrones, Orphan Black, Orange is the New Black, Shameless, Parks and Recreation, The Vampire Diaries, The Originals, Pretty Little Liars, My Mad Fat Diary, American Horror Story, etc. Some of my favourite actors are Nina Dobrev, Tatiana Maslany, Amy Poehler, Nick Offerman, Ian Somerhalder, and many others. I hardly see commercials, and can’t say I have a favourite.

 

On-line Media
I use the internet as a learning tool, for entertainment, communication, and inspiration. Youtube and tumblr are my most used sites. I do watch movies online, along with TV shows. I see the internet only growing more and more throughout the years. Eventually, I think they’ll be able to have the internet in our brains, and that we will have to only think about what we want to do, and it’ll happen (maybe in a couple hundred years, who knows).

Never on TV?
I don’t think that FOX news should be on TV. It’s full of false information that some people actually think is the truth. It’s also full of sexist, racist, and homophobic content. They don’t know what they’re talking about, and it brainwashes people into thinking negatively and believing things that just aren’t true.
What will you learn?

I took this class because I’m interested in Media Studies, I heard it was an enjoyable class from others, and because it will help me get into STU. I want to learn how media works and the effects that it has on people.

Leave a Reply

