Savanah in Media

Leave a comment

February 10, 2014 by Welcome to the Jungle

Intro: Tell us a bit about yourself

My name is Savanah, I am seventeen years old and am a grade twelve at Fredericton High School. I consume a lot of media now. From when I wake up to when I go to bed. There are constantly logos from all sorts of products everywhere I go, I use my phone Ipodand iPod a lot and watch TV and use the internet. I don’t really like to watch a lot of TV or movies, I’d much rather read a book. But when I do watch TV I like to watch the show Match Game, Suits, True Blood and Under the Dome. The kinds of movies I like to watch are really cheesy romance movies, like the Notebook. I’m constantly listening to music. I mostly like to listen to a music group called Daughtry. I absolutely love them. I don’t really create any media myself.

Media History

As a kid I didn’t really watch much TV, but when I did I watched Sailor Moon. I absolutely loved it and would watch it all day. I didn’t really watch a lot of TV as a kid, so I didn’t really see many ads for toys, and the ones that would be on I wouldn’t pay any attention to. My all time favorite movie when I was a kid, even now, is The Lion lion kingKing. When I was younger I would watch it a minimum of six times a day. When I was young, around the age of ten I was obsessed with Usher. Every time my mom would put on one of his songs I would immediately start singing and dancing to whatever song was playing.

Toys

Because of my obsession with Sailor Moon as a kid I had every toy that you could imagine that was Sailor Moon. I had the dolls, the costumes, the wands, the movies, everything. When I grew out of that phase I started an unhealthy obsession with Polly Pockets. My sister and I had hundreds of them growing up. I think the toys were a bit sexist. They were mostly girls, had little short dresses, and were all thin as a twig. The commercials often had young girls playing with the dolls. They didn’t influence me to any violence.

Music Choices

My favorite music groups right now are Daughtry, Simple Plan, The Neighborhood, and The New Politics. I really enjoy their music. I don’t like listening to rap or metal music. With rap music I find it hard to enjoy, and with metal music I find it just sounds like noise. I like being able to understand what a singer is singing about.

Television Now

I just started watching a new TV show called Suits, and I absolutely love it. It’s funny, has a good story line and just an overall good show. I also like the shows Under the Dome, Revolution, Match Game and Once Upon a Time. I don’t have a favorite actor. My favorite ad on TV is the Old Spice Mom Song commercial. It’s absolutely hilarious, and one of the best ads I’ve seen all year.

On-line Media

youtubeWhile on the internet I like to play games, watch TV shows, go on Facebook, go on YouTube and read. Other than that I don’t really use the internet. Most of the movies I do watch are online or I download them. I’m not sure what the future of the internet will be, but I do think it will be more involved in school systems. I think it might be used in school systems in ways which the students will be more required to use the internet for online classes. Other than that I think the future of the internet is unpredictable.

Never on TV?

I don’t think half of the stuff that is played on TV right now should be allowed to be played on TV. Most of the things showed on TV are either half naked girls or inappropriate language. It’s teaching the new generation to behave that way. To think wearing provocative clothing and swearing like a trucker is ok. I don’t think any of it should be allowed to do what it’s teaching.

What will you learn?

I took Media Studies because I am interested in what I can learn from the media. I want to learn about the effects that the media has on today’s society and to learn about the key concepts of media literacy.

Leave a Reply

