Matt’s Media: From Bugs Bunny to Breaking Bad

Leave a comment

February 10, 2014 by Welcome to the Jungle

Media Studies 120

February 10, 2014
Matt and the Media

Intro
My name is Matt R. I am seventeen years old and I attend Fredericton High School. I watch TV, movies and listen to music; those are primarily the types of media that I breaking badconsume. My favourite show on TV is tied between “Breaking Bad” and “The Walking Dead”. However I don’t watch a lot of TV but when I do, I like to watch those shows, or the news. One thing I do like to watch though is movies. My favourite movie of all time is “The Fugitive” with Harrison Ford and Tommy Lee Jones. The genre of movie I most prefer is action and thriller, mostly because I find the stories behind most action and thrillers are very interesting. For music, I listen to classic rock and country. For country, I listen to almost everything, new and old. For, older country, you can’t go wrong with George Jones or Johnny Cash, but I also like Patsy Cline and also artists such Merle Haggard or Waylon Jennings. For other country artist, Alan Jackson and George Strait are also very good. When it comes to classic rock, The Eagles and CCR are among my favourites.

Media History
When I was a kid, I had a couple of shows that I called my favourite shows. One would bugsbe “The Bugs Bunny and Tweety Show”, another was the classic “Scooby Doo”. I think I liked the older classic cartoons more than the new animated shows because of the story behind the older ones. Today if you watch a kid’s show it seems as if there is no real story behind it. When I was a kid I was not into music as much as I am today. Whenever I did listen to music I really liked listening to bands such as CCR or The Beatles. When I was kid, if a TV commercial came on advertising a new toy that interested me, I was highly influenced by that ad. I can remember when I was five, an ad for a new remote control car came out and I had to have that car.

Toys
When I was a kid, there were lots of toys I played with. One toy that was huge with me was the little green plastic army men; I loved those things, alone with GI Joe army men. Other toys I had were the hot wheels toy cars, and toy construction vehicles and action figures. I think that these toys are in a way sexiest because with the construction worker toys, there were never any female construction workers, they were all male. Same with the little plastic army men, there were never any female soldiers. Yes I can remember ads for the construction toys and the hot wheels toys, but I cannot remember any ads for the green army men.

 

Music Choices

ccrToday, I mostly listen to classic rock and country. My favourite classic rock groups are The Eagles, as well as CCR, Blue Rodeo (which could fall into both categories), The Stones, Tom Petty, Fleetwood Mac and various other artists. For country, George Jones is one of my favourites, but I listen to most country artists like John Denver Brooks and Dunn, Blake Shelton, Brad Paisley, George Strait, and many other artists. I like to listen to classic rocks because there was so much passion put into most songs, unlike today where most singers just stand in a room and sing into a computer instead of putting their heart and soul into one song. I listen to country because it just brings back a lot of good memories and also because it makes me think of my friends and the things that we do. One thing I will not listen to is electric or techno, I like something that I can sing along to.

Television Now
My favourite show on TV right now is a tie between “Breaking Bad” and “The Walking Dead”. A runner up though would have to be the television show “Cops”. My Favourite actors are Bryan Cranston who plays the main character in “Breaking Bad” and Tommy Lee Jones. I like Bryan Cranston because he is a really good actor and he also stars in my favourite TV show, and I like Tommy Lee Jones because he is in my favourite movie and he is a really good actor. My favourite ad is the Doritos time machine commercial, it is simple and it’s funny.
On-line Media

The only thing that I use the internet for is twitter or to look up information. I don’t use the internet all that much. I do not watch movies online because I have better things to do such as hunting then sitting home. I think that the internet will become a tool that people use every day and will become a vital tool in some careers, in a way this has already happened.

Never on TV

I think that TV shows like Judge Judy or Jerry Springer should never be on TV because I think people should leave there private matters to themselves. I think it is ridiculous how people go on these shows thinking they are settling a problem when in reality they make themselves look like unintelligent imbeciles.
What will I learn?

I took this class because I wanted to see exactly how media affects the general public and how we view media and how it impacts daily life. I want to learn how we become desensitized to ads and just how big a role media plays in society.

Leave a Reply

