Consuming Johnny Cash, modern media

Leave a comment

February 10, 2014 by Welcome to the Jungle

Once Upon a Time in the Media
by Amir E.
February 10, 2014

Introduction
My name is Amir. I am a 17-years-old grade 12 student at Fredericton High School. I consume an enormous amount of media every day. My media consumption comes from three main sources; TV, Internet, and Music. On TV, I like to watch movies, TV series, and late-night talk shows. When I am watching TV, I prefer comedies, so I like to watch jon stewartFriends, Two and Half Men, Community, and The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, but when it comes to movies, my favourite genres are drama, and adventure, so my favourite movies are The Shawshank Redemption, Shutter Island, and Troy. Music also plays an important role in my everyday life, as I listen to it when I walk to and from my school, and I also listen to music while doing any work. My favourite music genres include country, pop, and Jazz, and my favourite music band of all time is the Beatles. When it comes to media, it is also important to make your own contributions to the media, and that is why I am learning different video shooting, and editing techniques to make short movies.
Media History
As a kid, I remember watching a lot of TV shows. My favourite shows were Poké-mon and Dragon Ball Z, which I still enjoy now from time to time! The first movie I watched as a child was The Lion King, which is still one of my favourite movies too! I was fond of music when I was kid, especially all the soundtracks from the cartoons I used to watch, and my all-time favourite was the soundtrack of Postman Pat. I think I can say that I was extremely influenced by advertisement when I was a kid, as I had so many toys laying around the house, which I asked for after seeing their ads.
 Toys
yugiohWhen I was a kid, I used to play with Yu-Gi-Oh cards ALL THE TIME! Looking back at my toys as a child, I don’t think that the toys I played with influenced violence or sexism, but in general society infers that boys should play with trucks and girls should play with Barbie, which is sexiest in itself. I remember the ads for Yu-Gi-Oh cards, which made me, as a child, believe in the super power of the cards, which is probably why I bought them from the beginning!

Music Choices

John cashAs I mentioned before in my introduction, Music is very important to me in my everyday life. Right now, I listen to the Beatles, Johnny Cash, and Michael Bublé. I like listening to them, because their music is so genuine and I like the fact that their songs actually tell a story, and the lyrics of their songs are AWESOME! On the other hand, I will never listen to rap songs, because the thing that I enjoy the most in music is the lyrics, and I don’t like the fact that almost all rap songs now are just a bunch of people swearing, and making sexual remarks.

Television Now

As I said before, I like watching comedies on TV, so my all-time-favourite TV show is Friends, I like the fact that, unlike other TV shows, Friends is so close to our daily life, because as we follow the characters they go through ups and downs in their lives, which is the same as our life. My favourite actor is Leonardo DiCapreo. I like every single movie he starred in, and I find his acting remarkably genius, and in my opinion, no other actor could have played all these genius roles as good as DiCapreo. My favourite ad on TV now is Coca-Cola’s “America the Beautiful” ad, because it shows the beauty, diversity and unity of a strong society.

On-line Media
youtubeI spend a significant amount of time on the internet, particularly on YouTube.

I find YouTube as the gate for independent media, which will take over TV in the future. I also watch a lot of movies online.

With Netflix gaining popularity, I believe that it is just a matter of time for television as we know it, to be wiped out. The future of the Internet will have no limits or age restriction, and I think that in the future, the internet will revolutionize every aspect of the media, and will change everything, and this change is noticeable as we can see the media changing dramatically just in the last 5 years!

Never on TV
In my opinion what should never be on TV is reality shows, they are superficial, provocative shows, and they just show a bunch of fake people, who make more money by being more unrealistic. These shows can also have a bad influence on the lives of the normal families that watch these shows and actually believe that these are “reality” shows, so they get influenced by it.

What will I learn?

I took Media Studies because I am interested in what goes on the media, and I really wanted to be more aware of how the media affect my life.

I was also told by a friend of mine that this course is one of the few life-changing courses that I will get the chance to take in high school, because this course will change the way I will watch TV forever, so I was so excited about taking it. By the end of the course, I want to learn different advertisement techniques, and how advertisement agencies make us buy a product by using different colours, slogans, sound effects, and so on.

Leave a Reply

