What IS cool? Modern Popularity

Leave a comment

January 20, 2014 by Welcome to the Jungle

What IS Cool?

What IS Cool?

What is Cool?
My Take on Modern Popularity
By Alex R.

It’s hard to say exactly what cool is, because both the materialistic side of cool and the persona of cool changes every day. Cool used to be thought of as smoking cigarettes and being rebellious, but with science we’ve realized that smoking will kill you and rebellion is only cool if you’re Che Guevara.
Cool is such a complex word when you think about it. I personally think it differs from person to person. For example, I think being “cool” is being yourself and not caring about what other people think, because in ten years does it really matter what your peers thought of you? I don’t think so, but that’s just my opinion and like I said, cool differs from person to person. For others, what other people think about you makes or breaks your social status, and that’s fine. To each their own. But that’s not what I think that cool is.

My perception of cool, and brace yourself, because this’ll get kind of nerdy, is sitting at home on a Saturday night eating strawberry Pop Tarts and watching all of the Harry Potter movies chronologically. Cool is taking my 6 year old cousin with me to the Harvest Jazz & Blues Festival because she’s better company then most of my friends. Cool is definitely driving across the province with my dad so we can fish for Koho in the Skeena River.
From the Media’s perspective, I suppose that “cool” is being a trend setter. That means wearing the hot name brands, using the new slang, and going to parties, I think… I’m not sure. I’m not a trend setter, by any stretch of the imagination.

I don’t believe that “cool” can be bought, won, faked, or even corrupted. I believe that cool is something you find within yourself, regardless of your age. Cool is confident and collected. Find your cool.

Leave a Reply

