Transforming cars into aliens transforms our reviewer

Leave a comment

December 3, 2013 by Welcome to the Jungle

 

Cars that can Transform

Revieww by Marina D.

In 2007 the first movie of the Transformers trilogy was released. The talented Micheal Bay was the director for all three released movies. The screenplay is written by John Rogers, Roberto Orci, and Alex Kurtzman. Bragging rights to the cinematography go to Mitchell Amundsen, Ben Seresin, and Amir Mokri. Of course none of this could have happened if it weren’t for the studios which were Hasbro, diBonaventura Pictures, and DreamWorks Pictures.

 

Sam Witwicky, played by Shia Labeouf, discovers that his new car bought to impress Mikaela Banes, played by Megan Fox, is actually an alien robot named Bumblebee, voiced by Mark Ryan, from the planet Cybertron. After Sam meets the rest of the Autobots and their leader Optimus Prime, voiced by Peter Cullen, he is told that millions of years ago a cubed called the AllStar crash landed on earth after the destruction of their planet Cybertron. The evil Decepticons led by Megatron, voiced by Hugo Weaving, from the same planet plans to take his army of alien robots to gain possession of the cube and transform all human technology into an army of Decepticons. Sam holds the only map to find the Allstar and all hell breaks loose when the Autobots choose to destroy the cube to save earth and humanity and the Decepticons go in for attack.

What to expect when watching this movie is lots of action. Transformers is a half animated action film with great realistic acting. There is lots of moving and there is constantly something happening. Be prepared for the movie to be very intense when it picks up. You can also expect some comedic relief and a little bit of a romance in the storyline.

 

In a movie like this one there is one thing in particular that amazed me and it was the convincing acting that everyone did when they would talk to the alien robots. Obviously they are talking to air and have similar small objects in their hands symbolizing the “robots” but they are not directly speaking to the robots and they took this challenge and mastered it. There is no specific scene that I can pin point where this happened, it is every time the actors talked to the robots, they well convinced me. I think that is one of the biggest things that made me remember the actors, knowing that is not an easy thing to do. The best way to describe how they made this so convincing is that they are good actors; it’s as simple as that. To be 100% honest, there was no scene that impacted me in the movie that I can remember. There wasn’t anything in it that could have impacted me, it was just one of those movies you watch just to watch.

 

The feeling I got from this movie is lots of movement. The camera is constantly moving and there is always some sort of action happening. The specific scenes that I found to be creative were all the scene when the Autobots and the Decepticons broke out in fight. I found them to be very well done and full of action, it was always interesting to watch their fights.

It’s hard to understand lighting in this movie, it is honestly not one of the first things I think of when watching a movie and thinking back there isn’t much I can say about it. I found that one of the darkest times with lighting was one of the darkest and saddest parts of the movie where one of the soldiers’ wives is watching TV and finds out that her husband may not have survived a surprised attack. Another thing that I noticed is that the first time that Sam and Mikaela talk, the atmosphere is during a sunset making the scene have a romantic feel to it, ironic because they fall in love in the end. There is no specific shot that I found to be convincing but like I mentioned earlier all the shots of the actors talking to the robots where most convincing to me. I found Sam’s character to have the perfect amount of shock when he first meets and talks to his transformed car. Although this is not really something that the director could have accomplished, it was mores so the job of the actors themselves. The director could have absolutely helped direct them to be more convincing but it all comes down to the ability of the actors themselves.

 

One of the biggest things that made this movie unique was its animations. The robots are obviously not real but they look very realistic in this movie. I think the biggest reason why the robots were so memorable is because of their size difference and the way that they transformed. Every time I saw them each transform there were so many different parts to look at every time and the undoubtedly fact that they get so huge, I mean how could you not remember that. What the animated robots added to the storyline was basically making it up, without the robots there really wouldn’t be any point to the story. I think the music choice was also well chosen because it was very intense and perfect for this story. What I found kind of cool and unique was that since Bumblebee had been hurt in a previous fight making him unable to speak he communicates through his radio by playing music for what he wants to say. For examples when Sam wanted to drive Mikaela home when they first met, before Sam even said anything Bumblebee had already started playing the song “Baby come Back” as Mikaela was walking away. I found that it added to Bumblebees’ character, made the movie different and also added lots of comedy through this idea to the movie.

 

As you can probably already guess, I loved this movie. I think the biggest reason is first of all I Shia Labeouf is in it and I have always liked his acting from when I was a kid and watched him in The Even Stevens. I guess I watched the movie from a bias point of view and on top of that my brother had also recommended I watch it because he also enjoyed this movie. I just think all the graphics were so convincing and the actors chosen to play in this movie did a great job. I enjoyed watching those specific actors in this particular movie. I loved the intensity of the movie as well considering how picky I am when it comes to action films. I think I liked it even more because there was that intertwined love story between Sam and Mikaela and I’m a sucker for romantic movies. The parts with comedic relief through Sam’s character also makes me able to enjoy this movie much more because who doesn’t love to laugh? I would definitely recommend this to people that do not hate either Shia Labeouf or Megan Fox considering they are the main acting roles in this movie and to anyone that likes action animated intense movies, or even each one separately. I recommend it because the animations are so real and the actors did very well on convincing me of their parts.

Marina D. is a grade 12 student who loves Transformers movies.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

