ME-dia: Putting Mariah in Media

1

October 11, 2013 by Welcome to the Jungle

Putting Mariah in Media

A bit about myself

mumfordI am a 16 year old grade 12 student at Fredericton High School. Some things that take up my spare time are; dance, working at American Eagle and Menchie’s and spending time with my friends, family and boyfriend! Every day, I am constantly listening to my favorite music either in the car on the way to school or in my headphones at night. Some of my favorite things to catch on TV are; Big Brother, The Vampire Diaries, The X Factor and So You Think You Can Dance. I am a huge fan of horror movies, romance and comedies! If you catch me listening to music, you will find I am either listening to John Mayer, Lana Del Rey, Ben Howard or Mumford and Sons.

Media history
My favorite show as a child was Dragon Tales! I watched an episode every day before I headed off to school! I also really enjoy Care Bears. Both my two favorites! The first movie I ever saw was The Little Mermaid, which is of course, still a classic favorite of mine. As a kid, I always listened to a thirty second long piece of a song by Britney Spears or the Back Street Boys! I was always influenced by ads as a young girl, as my sister and I were always running away from my parents to go into Toys R Us to check out the latest toys!

Toys
When I was young, my favorite toys were my Bratz dolls and my Cinderella doll. My sister and I never played with Barbies, surprisingly. They were a fun toy for girls to play with since you could create your own home, hair salon and such. These toys did not influence me to any bit of violence! I remember seeing ads for Bratz dolls on TV and it always looked like older girls playing with the dolls, which was great for me because I wanted to be just like those twelve and thirteen year olds, even though I thought they were a little too old for the toys!

Music choices
My favorite artists now are Lana Del Rey, Mumford and Sons, Ben Howard and John Mayer as they all sing the same style of music! I am a fan of country during the summer time when you can roll the windows down and blast the music, however in the fall, winter and spring, I enjoy listening to more calm and relaxing music in the rainy and cold weather. I refuse to listen to any screamo music. I have never been a fan of people screaming and yelling, nor do I ever think I will be.

Television now
My favorite show on TV is Big Brother! I catch an hour of it every Sunday, Wednesday and Thursday nights! They always leaving you hanging and begging for more, wondering who will win POV or HOH. Some of my favorite actors are Ryan Gosling for his amazing good lucks and the fact that he is Canadian and as well as Jennifer Anniston as she has always been so humorous on TV! My dad and I always get a kick out of funny commercials, and our favorite right now would have to be the one for Boston Pizza’s new ribs! We always get a good laugh out of that one!

Online media
facebook-logo-thumbs-upI use the internet on a daily basis whether it’s to check my Facebook or Pinterest account or just to check out some new prom dresses I’ve been waiting to see! I watch a lot of movies online on the weekends on Netflix or sometimes I find them for free! In the future, I could see the Internet becoming much more user friendly. I don’t know much about technology, but what I imagine is a large touch computer with pages that come right out of the screen like you see on criminal shows like CSI: Miami or Criminal Minds.

Never on TV?
I think Jerry Springer and Maury are two shows that should not be aired on television. Honestly, they are two hilarious shows that I always get a laugh out of because it is just hard to believe there are such people out there.

What will you learn?

I took this class because I want to learn more about what’s going on around me that I don’t tend to realize – plus, I heard it was a really fun class from some previous students! I hope to learn a lot about how the media affects us and focus on comparing men to women in the media.

One thought on “ME-dia: Putting Mariah in Media

  1. sammi says:

    we have a lot in common!

Leave a Reply

