ME-dia: My Media Story

Leave a comment

October 11, 2013 by Welcome to the Jungle

The Media Storey
Coel S.
Intro
My name is Coel. I am a seventeen year old student attending Fredericton High school. My biggest consummation of media is through YouTube, all the ads and promotions on there is almost overwhelming. I don’t really watch television shows, I mostly just watch football games. I am a big fan of action and adventure movies, but I’m also a softy when it comes to romantic movies. My favourite movie of all time is “The Back-Up Plan” I could easily quote about 95% of that movie. I like all kinds of music: country, hip-hop, pop and even some classic rock.

Media History
As a kid I was into Teletoon and all the shows that they had to offer: Spongebob Squarepants, Fairly Odd Parents, and other shows that I can’t remember. I don’t know which movie I saw first exactly but the first movies I remember are “Sinbad” and “Finding Nemo”. I remember watching “Sinbad” on my birthday and I have part of the film reel in my closet. I remember as a kid, listening to a Backstreet Boys CD through my Walkman CD player, good times. I was the worst as a kid for toy ads. I remember seeing these Hotwheels commercials where they would make it look like the cars would actually work and that drove me nuts. I had about 150 different cars, I was obsessed.

Toys
hot wheelsOther than Hotwheels, I played with Buzz Lightyear, Bionicles and Lego. I think the toys I played with were very sexist. Hotwheels always involved these complicated race tracks with two boys being very loud and violent. Buzz Lightyear was Andy’s toy from “Toy Story”. Even though he had toys who were girls, most of Andy’s toys were men. Bionicles were destructive robots used in war; again commercials would use two boys as opposing forces battling with these robots. I think the least sexist toy I played with was Legos, but then again anything that had to do with building was usually portrayed to the boys. As for violence, I think the thing that influenced me to violence were video games more than the toys I played with.

Music Choices
Right now I’ve recently been getting into country. I used to not listen to it because I thought they all sung about beer, farms and more beer. But country isn’t as bad as people make it out to be, it’s easy to sing along to and you can relate to most of their songs. I cannot tell a lie, I got into country because my girlfriend influenced me. One type of music I will never be peer pressured into listening to is that Screamo crap. God I don’t know how people listen to that, it’s just noise. I listen to music to enjoy it not to get my ear drums ruptured.

Television Now
I don’t have a favourite TV show, or a favourite actor or actress. I watch a show and if I like it, I watch it. Also with movies and actors, if it’s a good movie and they’re good actors than good. But other than that I couldn’t care less really.

On-line Media
I mostly just use the internet for YouTube like I stated in the first paragraph. I am subscribed to multiple chanyoutube-the-secret-ingredient-nels and I have to keep up with weekly, daily and even monthly shows. I also have Netflix and I have probably watched around 50 movies with that site. I think the internet isn’t going to be just restricted to computers. I think we’re going to be able to access it with our minds, or at least that’s what I want to happen.

miley-cyrus-we-cant-stop-1-650-430Never on TV?
I think all those stupid shows on Much TV should be taken off. They literally promote nothing but stupidity and injury to dummies on those shows. I think Miley Cyrus should be taken off TV forever. Her form of “expressing herself” is going too far. The whole world is criticizing on her because she is pushing the envelope.

What Will You Learn?
I took this class because I’m really into everything that involves the media. I’m into music, sports, technology, and I just want to know how those things work and operate. I am a person who likes how things are made or how they work; I want to see behind the scenes on all this fancy media shenanigans. Also I took this class cause Mr. Gange is the best! 

Leave a Reply

