ME-dia: From Powerpuff Girls to Youtube to a Graphic Design career

Leave a comment

October 11, 2013 by Welcome to the Jungle

Putting Em in the Media
by Emily G.

My name is Emily and I am a seventeen year old student at Fredericton High. I consume enormous amounts of music everyday which makes it one of my favourite media sources by far. My favourite styles are rock and alternative and I will occasionally try to create my own songs on my ukulele or piano. I enjoy watching comedies on television as well as classic, highly acclaimed movies that have been seen for decades.

Power_Puff_Girls_wallpaper_by_jessrahWhen I was a kid I loved to watch shows such as SpongeBob Squarepants, Powerpuff Girls and Johnny Bravo because they all brought on an element of laughter and fun. My first movies that I remember seeing in the theatre were Stewart Little and Tarzan in 1999. I loved listening to The Spice Girls and classic rock music like “Running Down a Dream” by Tom Petty or “I Love Rock and Roll” by Joan Jett. I was also very influenced by toy ads as a children, especially around Christmas time or my birthday.

As a child I would mostly play with my Barbie dolls or Polly Pockets, which looking back, appeared to be a very sexist toy for girls because of their unrealistic body shape and so called “perfect lives”. These toys give girls false expectations for when they’re older and a bad roll model to look up to. They didn’t however promote violence, unlike a lot of other children’s toys that influenced children when they played with them at that age. I also remember seeing ads for these toys as a kid and looking back, they seemed so amazing, when in reality, they weren’t.

The music I am listening to right now is very relaxing, which gives me something to study and copy notes to for class. This consists of chill indie songs filled with catchy music and soul filled lyrics. The music that I won’t listen to would probably be country, just because I was never raised as a country girl and I can’t understand the whole culture behind every song.

My favourite show on TV at the moment is Girls on HBO. It’s a comedy staring Lena Dunham, who is one of my favourite actresses just because she is so clever and hilarious. I also love Audrey Hepburn because she is such a classic beauty and an amazing actress as well. At the moment I don’t have a favourite ad mainly because I don’t usually pay attention to commercials.

youtube-the-secret-ingredient-When I’m on the internet I like to go on Pinterest, Facebook, Youtube or iTunes. I will occasionally watch movies online and I believe that in the future, the internet will wipe out cable television and everything will be online, free for the watching.

In my opinion, objectified women should never be on TV. It gives girls poor role models and it does a lot to their self esteem. I hate watching a commercial where a woman is selling herself just to get the product she’s representing to sell. It gives mixed messages to all the rest of us girl; whether we should all look that way or not.

I took Media Studies because I wanted to learn more about advertising and how the media works. When I graduate I want to get into a Graphic Design course and I felt that this class would help me if I wanted to work for a magazine or an advertising company. In this class I would like to learn about those two fields more, just so that I get more basic information for later on.

Leave a Reply

