ME-dia: From Pokemon to Pink bike

4

October 11, 2013 by Welcome to the Jungle

Jesse in Media

By Jesse D.

Intro: Tell us about yourself

Pink-Bike-Rider-Logo1My name is Jesse D. I am 17 years of age, currently living in Canada. I consume a great deal of media every day. When I do watch TV, I like watching series like the Walking Dead. However I rarely watch television these days. My favorite genre of movies would either have to be comedy or horror. My favorite movie is Nation Lampoons: Christmas vacation. I listen to a lot of music and it is very important to me. My favorite genres in music include rock, metal, hip hop and indie music. Some of my favorite groups include Rise Against, The Local Natives, Arcade Fire and The Wu Tang Clan. A couple years ago my friend and I got into making short mountain biking films, and posting them on an online site called Pinkbike. Its great way to show how you play your favorite sport to the world!

Media History

As a Child, I remember watching a great deal of TV. My favorite show was defiantly SpongeBob Square pants, which I still enjoy from time to time! The first movie I remember seeing in the theatres was Toy Story, which to this day is still one of my favorites. My favorite band when I was younger was Linkin Park. I have always enjoyed rock music. I think toy ads always influenced me, as I always had tonnes of toys laying around the house!

Toys

legoThe toys I loved the most when I was a kid was Pokémon cards and Lego. There was just something about opening a new pack of cards and slowly shuffling through them to see what I got, but nothing compared to building a new set of Lego. Now, having a little brother, I even help him build them, and I feel like a little kid again! From what I played with, none of these toys I think were considered sexiest in anyway, but I could see how that could apply to some of the girl’s toys like Barbie’s and some of those other doll toys.

Music Choices

As I am typing this, I am listening to Rise Against. They are probably my favorite band I have listened to. I can listen to their albums over and over again I feel like they never get tiring. They have such a unique sound and all of their songs are filled with deep lyrics and meaning. I will absolutely not listen to any form of pop music. When I hear the drown of that garbage, it just makes me think about how much money they make off of singing meaningless lyrics, to sell millions of records with no effort at all. Also, country music is very bad in my opinion. I just find all of the music sounds the same, no values, just singing about the same thing.

Television Now

I don’t think I can answer this section very well, I don’t remember the last time I actually sat down to watch TV. I don’t really have any favorite actors either, it just doesn’t peak my interest.

On-line Media

I use the internet very frequently. I mostly use it for social networking purposes. Some of my favorite sites to use are Twitter, Pinkbike and YouTube. Pinkbike means a lot to me because I post a lot of mountain biking content on it with my friends, and it’s a great community to meet riders from around the world. The future of the internet is scary to think of, especially the use of products like Google Glass, an eye glass that you can where that has an interface similar to a smartphone that you can use of the fly, with interacts to the world around you. If we aren’t careful, you can really get into trouble on the internet, so in the future, people need to smarten up.

Never on TV?

These days I feel like there is so much trash on TV. That’s one of the main reasons I don’t watch it anymore. But the show that I hate the most in Honey Boo Boo child. It is basically a southern family of people who have the worst language and grammar imaginable. The only reason why these people are on TV is because they have a daughter that is so stupid that she is funny. It’s quite sad really, that this is allowed on TV these days.

What will you learn?

 

To be honest I only took this course because I didn’t know what else to choose. But I am really glad that I did. It is my favorite one throughout the day. I really want to learn about the psychology of people when they see ads, or the tricks advertisers use to draw people in.

 

4 thoughts on “ME-dia: From Pokemon to Pink bike

  1. Hannah says:

    Excellent choice in Rise Against as your favourite band my friend

  2. kirk says:

    good blog man pinkbikes a pretty sick site.

  3. ashley pitre says:

    I was told to write a commment, i wanted to say you seem like a cool kid

  4. Tristan says:

    Interesting, I share the same opinions mostly when it comes to television and mainstream media.

Leave a Reply

