ME-dia: A 17-year old with a great sense of irony

Leave a comment

October 11, 2013 by Welcome to the Jungle

facebook-logo-thumbs-upIntro

My name is Lyssa. I’m 17 years old, and I’m a senior at Fredericton High School. There’s a lot to say about me, but I’m going to keep it sweet and simple. I’m a typical teenage girl; I listen to Taylor Swift, I cry during romantic movies, I love the color pink, and my biggest dream is to win an Oscar and to be swept off of my feet and into Ryan Gosling’s arms. I hope you’re not taking me seriously… Gag. I actually listen to heavy metal and screamo, I only like watching twisted horror movies, I have a thing for the color (okay, shade) black, and I can promise you that I don’t find Ryan Gosling the least bit attractive. Another thing, I guess you could think of me as an onion; you can keep peeling layers off, but you’re always going to find the same thing and start crying.


Media History

Growing up, I was the type of kid who basically spent 90% of my life outside playing with my friends, playing in my sand box, picking flowers for my mom, having picnics… I was never really influenced by any form of media. Although I do remember watching Teletubbies, Elmo’s World, Big Comfy Couch, and Dora The Explorer. My very first movie was Finding Nemo in 2003. As for music, for some odd reason, I was obsessed with Elvis Presley. And ads for toys, bright colors and rough games were my thing.

Toys

In all honesty, I never played with Barbie dolls and Polly Pockets and all of those girly toys. I grew up playing with Pokemon cards, action figures, and dinky cars. They weren’t necessarily sexist or violent, unless you consider Pokemon card battles “violent”. I don’t remember the ads, either, but I do remember constantly bugging my parents to buy me the newest Pokemon cards and saving up my whole month’s allowance for them.

Music Choices

When people look at me, they automatically assume that since I’m a girl, I listen to Taylor Swift, maybe some 80’s rock. But no, I listen to the loudest music that you could possibly find. Heavy metal, deathcore metal, screamo, dubstep, rap, you name it. Why? I guess after so many years of being bullied, abused, and suffering though depression, this loud music is my getaway; my headphones go in and the sound goes out. The world is blocked out and I can finally be happy in my own little world. As for the genres of music that I won’t listen to, I absolutely can’t stand the majority of country, folk, jazz, and others which are similar. I also have a strange hatred for The Beatles. There really is no valid reason why, I just don’t find them very appealing. A few of the many bands that I’m really into right now would be Funeral For A Friend, 30 Seconds To Mars, A Day To Remember, Bring Me The Horizon, and Rammstein.

Television Now

the-big-bang-theory-10My favorite television shows at the moment are Two And A Half Men, Big Bang Theory, Ink Master, and Jerry Springer (don’t judge me). As for favorite actors, I’m obsessed with the ones that can make me laugh or portray an excellent passion for their career. A few golden examples would be Johnny Depp, Jim Carrey, Adam Sandler, Ellen Page, Steve Carell, and Wanda Sykes. And finally, for TV ads, I don’t particularly pay attention to any unless they’re related to something that I want really bad (photography related items), or whether or not they can make me laugh. My all time favorites at the moment would be for Frank’s Red Hot Sauce, Mio Sport, and Mio Squirt commercials. They’re funny as hell and are still capable to get the point across.

Frank’s Red Hot Sauce: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j9DwA_VZDno

Mio Sport: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PUwVxmZlxOs

Mio Squirt: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9zG4671fhbQ

Online Media

I’m one of the typical teenagers that do nothing important on the internet, other than visit Facebook, Ask.fm (a website where you can ask anybody anonymous questions and they answer it publicly. It’s pointless and gives everybody an opportunity to be an anonymous bully, yet it’s so addicting), listen to music on Youtube, and blog my problems away on Tumblr. Although it may sound innocent, I’ve noticed that t here is a lot of bullying through the online world. Is it because people feel like they’re stronger because they’re hiding behind a computer screen? Because the people that they’re bullying can’t physically see their flaws as he/she may be judging them for? I don’t know, but it will never be put to an end. It’s impossible.

Never on TV?

What shouldn’t be played on TV is based 100% on somebody’s opinion. Some people like a certain show, others may not. That doesn’t mean that one show shouldn’t be on TV because of a majority of the opinions. Jerry Springer, for example. Most people think that it’s a stupid and pointless show, but I personally find it entertaining. Not to mention it really gives me that “your life isn’t this as bad as these poor, uneducated people” boost. But based on 100% my opinion, commercials that try to prevent bullying, depression, and suicide should not be put on television. I understand that they’re trying to prevent it, but honestly, it’s no use. Bullying will always be a bad habit that hides in each of us, depression will always be the unbeatable mental problem, and suicide will always be “Plan B”. The worst part about the commercials is that I find that the creators are making people with depression/suicidal look like freaks. Like they don’t belong and should be treated like garbage. People without depression simply do not understand what people with it go through. Self harm, the incapability to feel emotions (such as happiness, love, and accomplishment), lack of sleep, eating disorders, feeling like everybody’s eyes are on you and you’re silently being judged… Do you know why people cut? Because it’s a distraction. For one moment, you don’t feel the agony, fear, anger, and sadness try to take over. All you feel is the razor slicing your skin. You don’t think about how alone you are or how people talk about you behind your back or how your broken family fights every day. All you think about is the blood. And the addicting part? Well, that’s when all of the pain comes back and you can feel the buildup of sadness and loneliness inside of you. The only way to fix that is to do it again, only a little deeper so the numbness will last longer. It’s all about control; you can’t control the pain on the inside, so you get to control the pain on the outside. That’s why people cut. Now, if only society could understand that and actually help us.

What will you learn?

I took this class because I’m so convinced that I have untapped potential when it comes to writing. I guess I can write, and I’m extremely passionate, but this class would help out a lot with the little things that I’m unaware of when it comes to journalism. So far, I’ve learned quite a bit about both the teacher and the subject, which is nice. I’ve also come to realize that a writer is not passionate until he/she and their piece of writing become one. As for what I want to learn in this class, that all depends on what Mr. Gange plans on teaching us. I’m more than willing to learn whatever he’s got.

Leave a Reply

