Josh-in’ the Media

Leave a comment

October 8, 2013 by Welcome to the Jungle

horrorJosh-in’ the Media

Introduction:
Hello! And welcome to my life! I am a seventeen year old currently in grade twelve at Fredericton High School. Even though I don’t even have cable or satellite T.V, I’m still getting fed all sorts of media. I do however, have a computer, and there is an unbelievable amount of ads on the web. I’ve noticed plenty while browsing, and most of them have nothing to do with the video I’m watching. For instance a car ad during my anime shows! I’ve recently become interested in filmmaking and I love horror films. I’m not sure that I can find subjects in high school prepared to help me with that…

Media History:
As a kid, I was flabbergasted by Pixar and the animations they brought to the table. I’ve never really had a favorite of anything, but I did like things as a whole. Unfortunately I don’t remember what saw my first time at the movies. It was probably animated though. And the music I listened to wasn’t really typical. Yes I did have some music soundtracks but other than that it was Linkin Park and Metallica.

Toys:
I used to play with all of my toys at once because I couldn’t leave any one out. My mom used to come into my room and get mad because my sound effects were keeping her up! I feel like I was influenced by the toy ads, just because I was unaware of how sneaky they were. I was definitely more attracted towards the action figures rather than Barbie dolls. To be honest I think I’ll make my first horror film about dolls… long story. Those ads were very smart, only being released a few months before the holidays. And every time I didn’t care which one I got. These toys did not make me violent, I was just born that way, and any young child has to learn to control their temper.

Music Choices:
As I said before my taste in music wasn’t really typical. My parents got divorced when I was eight and I turned to some harder stuff to get me through. I looked for anything that could drown out my thoughts, really. So a solid guitar solo and the sound of drums roaring in my head was perfect.

Johnny-Depp-johnny-depp-32659258-3450-4149Television Now:
I have no preference as to what I watch on T.V because frankly I’ll only see it every once in a blue moon. My favorite actors are John Travolta, Johnny Depp, and Chloë Moretz.

On-line Media:
I use the internet for everything! Gaming, communicating, research, entertainment, etc. I watch a variety of movies and shows. The internet is the future.

Never on TV:
I think that most of what goes into television shouldn’t be there. It seems like today half of the people don’t even realize what they’re watching. I believe that this generation is being overtaken by technology, and we need to bring it back to the basics.

What I learned:
I took Media Studies because I’m very interested in what goes on with the media. I want to know more about how I can be more open minded, and see beyond the screen.

Leave a Reply

